• 24Days
  • 24Hours
  • 24Minutes
  • 24Seconds

Dr. Ken Yeang , Principal of T. R. Hamzah and Yeang , Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

He is a prolific Malaysian architect and writer best known for advancing green design and planning, differentiated from other green architects by his comprehensive ecological approach. Dr. Ken Yeang’s architecture feature eco-land bridges, vertical landscaping, ecocells, energy efficiency, light shelves, light pipes, stepped terraces, vertical linked enclosed atria, windscoops, bioswales, and deep green architecture. Yeang has received many awards for his work since 1989 (over 35) including the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (for his Menara Mesiniaga, an IBM franchise), the Prince Claus Award (Netherlands), the UIA (International Union of Architects) August Perret Award, the Gold Medal of the Malaysian Institute of Architects (2011), the WACA (World Association of Chinese Architects) Gold Medal (for the Solaris Building, 2011), the Government of Malaysia’s award of ‘Danjah Mulia Pangkuan Negen (DMPN) in 2003 that carries with it the official title of ‘Dato’ (generally regarded as the Malaysian equivalent of the UK’s OBE), the prestigious Merdeka Award (for the 'environment' category) in 2011 (generally regarded by the Malaysian government as its national equivalent to the Nobel prize).
Yeang has designed over 200 projects since 1975.

For more information, click here.